Grades vs. Prom Dress Shopping

Hey all!

It was fairly recently (as in before I even started the blog) that my school gave out our midterms, something that means that, sometime soon, the school will then be sending out those grades to universities and colleges. That is something that is different than the past 11 years of my schooling, but there was one more thing that was radically different, at least for me;

This time I wasn’t dreading the marks.

This is what I used when Marks were coming in...

There is something that I should point out now, before I tell of my not-so unspectacular marks, and hopefully it will explain a bit as to why I took the courses that I did.  For the past three years I was pretty convinced that I wanted to go into Engineering, architectural or civil, and took courses that would get me into a good university so I could go on and BE an engineer. I did all the sciences, I took all the math’s, I did a lot of looking into the various kind of jobs that I could go into—all that stuff, and it was about 3/5th’s of the way through first semester this year that I realized quite how much I really didn’t want to deal with that.

My schedule went something like, physics, religion (I am not religious, but go to a catholic school), double art, and Advanced functions, and my schedule at the beginning of THIS semester was English, Calculus and Vectors, double art, and chemistry.

It was due to my Physics class paired with the fact that I was doing less than stellar in my math class that made me realize that I was mainly going for engineering because a) Lexy was an engineer, b) it would pay lots of money and would almost guarantee a job, c) I really like buildings, and thought it would be cool to be like “hey, I helped build/design that house/building/structure”, and a great deal of d) I don’t actually know what I want to do, and this seems like a good option.

Physics is a class that I didn’t really have an issue with in grade 11, but I don’t know whether or not it was the teacher this year, or because of the content, but I am absolutely serious in saying that if there is any way to avoid physics, I will. If someone offers me money to redo the class, it would have to be a large sum of money, and it would have to be on the promise to pay me double if I got higher than 70. I may sound violently against this, but that’s because I find it extremely easy to despise a subject that makes me feel like an absolute failure, no matter how much I study for it.

This is an example of Brownstone...isn't it awesome?

I think it may have also been the math in it and for those of you who haven’t realized yet, you kind of really need math (and Physics) to be an engineer.

Like, really, really need it.

So nope, I reevaluated everything, and figured out that no, I just really like old buildings (like Victorian and brownstone buildings), and I think that a majority of the idea of Eng as a career was because I had no clue what else I could do and figured that my sis was doing pretty well as an engineer, so why not?

I don’t know how many people go through their high school career thinking things like this, or maybe going for what seems convenient, but it was not a great feeling, realizing I could have been taking a number of more art-oriented courses.

In a way, I was kind of lucky that I didn’t use any of my spares (my school only allows two spare periods) first semester. Because there was no way that I would be able to get through the day with both Calc. and Chem. in one day. As it is now, I have only English and then after a spare, Art, and then I can go home. Escape! Bwahaha!

Ah! What a wonderful thing that is!

This is a Victorian building... I want to live here!!!!!

But I have pretty much gone almost entirely off track from report cards.

So yeah, report cards come around, and I’m not worried in the least. I did not do well in Math or Physics first semester, and I couldn’t get out of Chemistry until after midterms came out, so that was my lowest mark.

Anyway, including an online mark, my top six marks average up to 83.333… %, so I’m good for the average since it’s only the top six marks that universities look at. So I personally don’t see an issue, except that maybe I could get a couple of marks higher in my online course. However pretty much EVERYONE is cranking down on me to get higher marks, to watch my marks, to make sure that I do my best.

Really, I have two courses this semester, with one online course. Art is something that I could do with my eyes closed, and still get a high mark (I got a 93 in both courses), and English is my favourite subject, and I’m getting an 81 while in Advanced placement. Advanced Placement is exactly what it sounds like, and if your school has an IB program, it’s kind of like that.

I realize that the marks are important, but I really don’t believe that stressing over marks when they are fine is going to make them better. No, I don’t have as great marks as, say, Lexy did when she went to high school, but honestly I’ve grown up with people telling me that I shouldn’t hold myself up against, or try to be like Lexy, and yet this keeps on coming up?

This is my last few months as a high school student, and I will be acting like a total dork when I graduate and will probably only ever visit to be able to say “I’VE GRADUATED AND I’M NOT HERE FOR SCHOOL!”

I want to be able to enjoy it until the last week at least, where upon I will study my butt off for my single exam.

Until then I will do my assignments, fill out job applications for the summer, and look for a prom dress/grad. dress, WHICH, I might add, is stressful enough.

I have never seriously gone dress shopping until last weekend, and the trip only secured the knowledge that I HAVE NO CLUE WHAT IT REALLY MEANS TO DRESS SHOP.

Guys, if you are reading this and scoffing at the thought of dress shopping being that much harder than, say, suit shopping, then you are wrong. Those who have the y chromosome and have no interest in wearing (let along shopping for) a dress will now be regaled with the kinds of questions that one of my friends (who is more than adept at dress shopping) asked when we walked into the first dress shop. Please note that by the end you would probably be freaking out as much as I did, if not more.

Guys, you'd be freaking out like this kid, or perhaps like this horse...

This looks darker in real life, and looks (in my opinion) better on me than on this model... I don't really like it on the model...

What kind of cut do you want?

What length do you want?

Does the fabric matter to you?

Do you prefer sequins, ___ (insert something she mentioned but I have no clue what it is) ___ or stones?

Why don’t you want floor length?

What colours do you prefer?

Well then, what colours do you NOT want?

Do you have any idea of what LOOK you even want?

Did you want a halter top, strapless, ___, off the shoulder, blah-de-blah, insert-some-other-kind-that-made-me-baffled, or what?

Are you planning on wearing heels? Flats?

Do you want to be able to wear leggings with it?

And it went on like that; until it got t the point that I hid out in the changing room, and told my two friends to just grab whatever they think would look good, or whatever. And to just guess what size I am, ’cause the numbers freak me out. Why can’t they just put XL, L, M, S, or XS rather than the numbers? My one friend (the more than adept one, since Buddy#2 was just laughing because she had to go through this before, and already had her dress, and is just as not-adept as I am) said that I might be a 1, but that seems too small, but I tried on a 5 and it was TOOOO big. 

Yeah guys, a 5. In shoes that’s downright tiny, and it was too big as a dress.

 And Friend 1 was right, I’m a 1… pssh…

Quick bit of info about my two friends since I feel as ifI’ll be mentioning them again in the near-ish future: Friend 1 /Buddy #1(both will have code-names later probably) knows about dress shopping and is someone I’ve known since middle school, but only really got to know in highschool, and Friend 2/Buddy #2 is someone I’ve known since gr. 9, but have had almost all of my classes with her… Friend 2/Buddy #2  is not less than Friend 1/Buddy #1, but I figured for the moment I would call her 2 because i’ve known 1 longer. If you read this, 2, don’t shake your head at me, it’s certainly not MY fault that you didn’t go to a public school for middleschool ;P

And yes I realise that it’s also not YOUR fault that I didn’t go to a Catholic School in middleschool.

This is my third choice...

So I tactifully retreated (some may call it hiding), and occasionally came out in between fighting with zippers, stupid gauze-ey things that were supposed to tie in some odd fashion, zippers that HID from me and were infinitely more irritating than the ones that just fought with me, little clips and clasps that didn’t clip or clasp the right way, and got a couple of pictures of the ones that weren’t entirely horrible…

I’m fairly certain that the maker of the dresses were fairly devious when they were figuring out how ther wanted it to be tied and whatnot, since everything was complex enough that I had to get it readjusted once I got out… the only reason why I didn’t get help while puting it on was because I didn’t feel like flashing the entire store, nor did I want to go out of the changing rooms clutching the dress to my chest.

And yeah, the entire thing was mildly scarring for me, so I’m going to do my best to avoid that stuff in the future.

But hey, I got a couple of dress options that I like (second choice is here), and will probably be going to pick one of them up soon-ish…

But I’m not going to let prom shopping worry me any more than I’ll let grades worry me :D

Instead I’ll wallow in agony over the fact that the prom tickets are $120 each, and the prom comittee, instead of booking us for a cool, old Opera house, decided to go to some sort of community hall-type thing…

Ciao~

Leave a Reply

