Crazy Raisins And Disappointing Chocolate

While in Loblaws a while ago, I found this stack of boxes with golden-wrapped chocolate. It was on sale. There were many things on sale, many things that I wouldn’t buy even though it’s on sale, and it’s for a variety of reasons…

I need this shirt and a mirror for when I go shopping...

I don’t need that many pickles….

That’s a sad amount of cheese for that price anyway….

Do I need that much salad dressing? Do I even have any salad? Do I want salad right now? I should probably have a salad… later.

But I already have a massive amount of milk!

More cheese… *sigh*…

These thoughts drown out the over-eager child voice that’s in my head saying “HOMIGOD! It’s a WHOLE DOLLAR OFF! Buy it now before it’s NO LONGER ON SALE!

I feel like that voice is also Insanity being mean, and poking fun at me being a poor, weak university student who also has to carry home all the useful edible crap I have to buy to survive…

But back to the golden wrappers.

I know that quite a few who are reading this are thinking of Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory (High fives for awesome :D) when I mention the golden wrapper, but this chocolate isn’t as awesome as all that.

This chocolate is a part-way disappointment.

Every gold-wrapped chocolate bar was large enough to garner the “It was THIS BIG” gesture, and with the squiggle-curve signature that made it Presidents Choice it promised to be all levels of delicious in 300g.

I bought two.

One milk chocolate, one dark.

Just to be even. Somehow. Just because.

I started with the milk chocolate, and finished it while studying for my art history midterm. It was sad to reach into the gaping wound in the wrapper and find it a husk, an empty shell of what it once was.

As I had finished the entire bar, I decided to use some self-restraint and hide the second bar out of sight in an obvious but out of the way area of my room for later.

Later came.

I was disappointed.

The dark chocolate bar is a disappointment…

Presidents Choice had let me down.

The awesomeness that was found within the milk chocolate was not within its darker counterpart, and this came as a huge blow to me as I like dark chocolate better than milk. Just because.

But I am always determined nowadays not to waste, and i have never thrown away chocolate… I’m not starting now.

So I brought out my bag of Crazy Raisins.

As the name is a bit long as a street name they’re called “Craisins”

(Ocean Spray product)

They, combined with the fail chocolate, would last me through my next bout of studying and general life for the next week or two.

A pinch of Craisins and a nibble at the chocolate made everything better. Made me realize that I’m still not going to get dark chocolate from PC again unless I need it to bake, but also made me realize that, as I’m eating these, my sister is going to read this and be entirely unimpressed as she will be thinking about how she doesn’t really like cranberry raisins, and that if I really didn’t like the chocolate I could have brought it home at Christmas and shared with the rest of the family.

Mainly her, If I’m reading her mind properly, but still.

As a response to that…

No.

It’s still mine.

You have Dog, I have chocolate.

It’s totally unfair as Dog doesn’t get used up as easily, but still.

No.

I suggest others try this combination, as chocolate chips are also good as it means you can mix it all up together in a baggie and have a bag of delicious to bring with you.

That football symbolizes chocolate. Just Because.

2 thoughts on “Crazy Raisins And Disappointing Chocolate

  1. lexy3587 says:

    :D
    I do have dog… b ut if you lick him, your tongue gets all hairy. if you lick chocolate, you get a taste of deliciousness. Not the same! also not hte same as football.

    • Doodled93 says:

      But you get to cuddle and get free hugging opportunities with Dog. You have a being with you that wants to lick your feet he’s so happy to see you when you get home. Cuddling chocolate would make a mess, and if chocolate had a personality, it would likely never want to welcome me ‘home’ ever. I miss dog… and of course the fam jam as well..

Leave a Reply

