Meet the Engineer

I know I mentioned a while ago that at one point in my high school career (read: 3.3/4 years) that I wanted to be an engineer.

Engineering is a bit of a joke in university, and when I was going around on tours to different universities FOR Engineering, I even heard a couple of people joking about how Engineering is the thing to sign up for if you’re good at math and science, but don’t know what you want to do.

For those reading this and shaking their heads, well, for those who don’t know what to do and re average at their school work, they sign up for General Arts.

For those who don’t know what they want to do but are good at English, you go into English.

For those who don’t know what they want to do but are good at art of some kind, they go into the specialty of that Art.

There are other examples that I could use, but I think the point has gotten across.

By the way, I DO know what I want to do at this point, which is WHY I went into Visual Arts. I want to restore art in museums… and recently I found out that there’s a burgeoning job pool for restoring old film.

But back to what I was saying…

My sister has told me over the course of the years that I wanted to be an Engineer that the Engineering department is the butt of a lot of jokes.

It is.

But she has also told me that the Engineers are the real party-ers, and has mentioned over the years that SHE studied to be an engineer that if one looked at the ratio between males to females… well…

There are a lot of guys. I think at one school I heard that last years engineering first years had only 17% female number.

I know a good couple of engineers here, but I don’t see them that often since there’s such a difference between our schedules.

But something else occurred to me recently, as one of my friends was raving about a favourite game of hers.

It’s a bit sexist sounding, but more males play video games than girls, on average.

I’m only saying ON AVERAGE.

I know plant of girls who play video games. I play video games. Now that I’m REALLY thinking on it, most of the people I know are female and play video games.

But back to what I was trying to say.

A friend plays this game, Team Fortress (1 and 2) a lot, and since I’m limited to what I can play by what my friends have while I’m at their home and by what I can find to play that I can play on a computer, I haven’t played this.

But she ‘ships’ a lot of the characters. Look it up, it’s circling the word ‘fandom’ in those-who-know-it’s mind.

So, I looked it up, saw that it looked amusing, and noticed that you could see these little clips for Team Fortress 2 as character introductions.

The ones I’ve heard the most of were Heavy and Medic, but I’ve also heard of Spy and Scout and Soldier too. But I found out about a character that I hadn’t heard of before…

And I don’t know why nobody has mentioned the guy to me yet.

The Engineer…

I freely admit that I’m writing this post right now so that I could show this to Lexy, and I’m writing now that if you (Lexy) don’t watch this short, less than 2 minute long clip, I will be very disappointed in you. Very much so. This made me laugh in ways that made me think, oh god, Lexy would love this, she’d get a real kick out of it, it’s so kind-of cliché but in such a way that it’s also kind of right in some cases…

Brings me back to a different kind of Engineering cliché, where we planned during our Creek Valley Adventure to move a not-log across the little stream-creek part we had such difficulty with, that we were going to make a bridge… just because. (P.S. look up my username on YouTube and see the sped up full version, will all of the film I shot during this Adventure)

I believe I mentioned that “It was [Lexy's] Engineering instincts acting up”

But this video here made me think about how awesome Engineering actually is, even though it’s from a game, but because it’s cliché because that’s pretty much the mind of an Engineer.

I think it was an engineer who decided so-and-so many years ago that, instead of going around the canyon every time they wanted to get to a point, they would make their own path… a bridge.

Engineers are a rare creature indeed, that they will do an immense amount of work in order to be lazy.

That’s where cars come from.

And as much as I would like to leave this there, with that last line being the punch line, I would like to go further to point out that it was an artist who figured out the whole moving pictures deal, and engineers worked on TOP of that to bring you the television and, later, the computer. Also Video Games. :D

Both of which are even bigger icons of laziness.

Yay Art.

ERTW (Engineers Rule The World) may be true, but Arts students are the uuber creative Mafia underneath it all.

2 thoughts on “Meet the Engineer

  1. lexy3587 says:

    lol, hilarious. he’s like bob the builder meshed with jason statham meshed with a cowboy… meshed with an engineer :P
    also, i read one of the parts of this post and it definitley sounded like you were writing that I had been trying to convince you to go into engineering… but no, i was just telling you that if you did, you were likely to find some mockery… but also parties… and boys. wow, it really sounds like i chose engineering for the wrong reasons! I swear that’s not it! i was just good at math and science…

    • Doodled93 says:

      I know you weren’t, you were just warning me about the pros and cons :D I appreciated it then, I appreciate it now, and yes, you were good at math and science so you went for Engineering… Mind everyone who reads this, she told me about all these things that she learned AFTER she’d been in the program a couple of years :D

Leave a Reply

