BBC Sherlock and OMYGODOMYGODOMYGODOMYGOD!

I like Mystery series, it’s why I like Death Note so much, it’s why I ruin books for myself by guessing and guessing the killer/ending and being right in some fashion…

It’s why I was so excited to get ‘Mastiff‘, the latest book by Tamora Pierce in her Becka Cooper series.

I like stories that get my blood pumping because I just can’t guess what will happen next, and it’s often hard to find those books when I go looking for them.

It’s why I find fanfiction so great and also so boring. You never find the stories you’re looking for under the right category, and I seriously wish that I could have my own personal category labeled ‘unexpected’…

BBC’s Sherlock series is one that I walked in on my family watching when it was first airing. I didn’t even get the first half hour or so of it, but I decided to sit down anyway.

And, in the way of most of the females in my family, I sat down with a book, so that if I got bored I could read.

Many times it’s a book I’ve already read, but…

But I don;t remember what book it was that I was reading, but I didn’t pick it up once I got a bit more ‘caught up’ with what had already happened, because awkward conversations and silences and interesting characters and unexpected turns caught me and kept my undivided attention in much the same way a piece of string might for a cat.

Or perhaps a particularly interesting bit of empty space.

I bet the expression on my face was much the same.

Dad even stayed awake through the entire first 90 minute long episode.

This series has had so much thought put into it that each episode is 90 minutes long…

Granted, the first season (and from what I’ve read of the second, as well) has a grand total of 3 episodes, but holy frig are they entrancing!

I’ve been rewatching the first season and giggling through more than 2/3 of it, seeing little cues and clues that I didn’t see or didn’t connect to when I watched it the first time, and I JUST finished watching the last episode for the first season and I frankly have NO idea how I survived the massive cliffhanger that they left off with…

For those who haven’t seen this series, I am almost jealous that you get to go straight through that awful bout of anxiety and waiting and are able to go to the next episode in the series….

I HAVE NO CLUE HOW I SURVIVED!

And I am once again hit with the fact that Benedict Cumberbatch (poor name, yes) is a number of things, and being hot as hell is not the only thing.

To the left, hottie mentioned above, to the right, older hottie to be mentioned below

He is also a fantastic actor and pulls off his own kind of awkward that makes you love him.

Very similar to, and I’m making this comparison for people who haven’t yet known the awesome that is BBC Sherlock, the awkwardness in The Big Bang Theory that is personified in Sheldon Cooper.

But, and he has an older hotness about him, there is also Martin Freeman!

He’s Fantastic!

I am fangirl-ing all over this series, all over these actors!

It doesn’t help that I’m still on the OMYGODOMYGODOMYGOD high of exciting and cliffhanger and awesome and FANTASTICness of I haven’t seen the next episode yet high, and even though I’ve already seen a lot of it, and due to a friend who thought too much of me had a good deal of it spoiled for me…

I still expect that, just as I JUST did over the first season which I have already seen before, I am going to have a sped up mantra of “Oh my god oh my god holy shit holy shit oh my god he’s so cute fffffuuuuuuuuucccckkkkkkk oh my god” running through my head as I watch the next couple of episodes.

Okay, calmed down a bit, I’m going to end this by saying that if you haven’t watched it, watch at least the first episode, and THEN decide. It is amazing. I love it and the characters even if the one playing Sherlock has an unfortunate name.

Here’s a LINK to where you can watch the first episode. Click on the dark rectangle with green circle, and wait a couple of seconds before clicking play. :D

It’s not fair how good this is…

Also, I’ve avoided giving any spoilers, and a cliffhanger in a mystery isn’t all that unusual or unexpected, so.

***NOTE TO FAMILY MEMBERS***: I’m working, just decided that it was time for a break so I spent a couple of hours watching Sherlock. It’s a good waste of time if it is a waste of time.

*EDIT!*: I just started watching the first episode in the second season and all I can say is “AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHAHAHAHAAAHHAHAHAHAH HOLY FRIGGING HELL!”

**EDIT!**: To explain that one of my friends thought too much of me… she’s under the impression that I watch everything before she does. I am used to having to wait a bit to talk about a show or an episode with her, and am also used to her coming up to me all excited about what just happened in so-and-so :P I was not that amused when she didn’t catch on quickly enough that I had no clue that the continuation of the series had been out, and that she had watched everything she could in order to ‘keep up’ with me, and spilled a number of thins that didn’t make sense but spoiled a number of things. So. Let it be known that you should always CHECK if someone has seen something before bursting with spoilers.

Sherlock is still awesome though :P

***EDIT!!***: I still haven’t watched the last episode, and it’s due to a number of things, one of which is that I know it’ll likely have a huge cliffhanger like the first season, and second because I had a number of things spoiled for me, and another reason is because I just don’t want to see the last episode until there’s the next season out. But I will end up watching it when I can no longer wait, and I will likely edit this once more with something along the lines of “WHYYYYYYYYYYYY????? Why must it be overrrrr!?!?!?!”

****EDIT****: I was just about to watch the next episode, but then I chickened out. :( I’m a coward. But I WILL watch it before next year…. so.

NEW! Check out HERE for my last update for this.

Leave a Reply

