NEARLY HIT HIM!

Okay, i pretty much JUST posted something today, but I figured that I’d better mentio this before my freak-out feeling goes away.

I’m taking a driving course, and have already done the inclass portion, but am now doing the in-car lessons… well, I was GOING to go on a walk with Lexy, you know, bring Gwynn (aussie-shepherd poodle mix that is my profile pic thingy) on a good hourish long walk for a cople of blocks, but because of the scheduled time of my lesson, I couldn’t. Well, we (the driving instructr and I) drove around the neighborhood, doing turns, pulling up to curbs, generally screwing up with the hand-over-hand method for a little more than half the time, when up ahead I noticed a very familiar pooch bouncing/playing and wrestling with a not-as-fluffy black dog, along with my almost-twin (+6 years) sister {Lexy}, and  my other older sister, Emma.

On a side note, I went upstairs to ask her what she wanted her code name to be, since it seemed kind of rediculous (and kinda mean) to call her my ‘other sister’ all the time, when I call Lexy Lexy. So I asked her, and she responded with Smith002, HER ffn.net penname, but I convinced her out of it… Sounded a bit too Star Wars…. “These are not the droids you’re looking for… Come along Lexy, Smith002, we have some super bit of machinery to blow up, mwahahaha”… So i talked to her for a bit, and we decided through debate to call her Emma, or Emmy for code.

Ayway, I saw them on the side of the road, Gwynn bouncing around and acting all playful, and generally making me more and more parainoid that he’d jump in front of the car ANY MINUTE NOW as I got closer, and seriously! I nearly hit him!

I mean, what kind of a situation is that??? Lexy would never have forgiven me if I had REALLY run him over, and I’m oretty sure that even if I didn’t end up killing the poor boy, it would be little reconciliation to say “well, he’s not dead… have fun with the vet bills!”

Also, what a way to put someone off even getting NEAR a car! second in-car official driving lesson, and I HIT MY DOG. I mean, FUDGE! Freaked me out!!!

Lexy has told me taht I am freaking out too much, and I realise it’s a bit rediculous, but what if I HAD hit him?

She is now reminding me that, by ‘almost hit the dog’ I actually mean ‘drove on the same street’, I must point out that there was a parked car on the one side, so I was like, a whole car door away from hitting them!

Of course, now that I actually think about it, I probably would have stopped it, and it wasn’t likely that the driving instructor would have opened her door to hit anyone (what a way to lose your job, eh?), and I’m mainly freaking out about the possibility more than the reality…

But yeah, driving instructions were pretty fun, even if I have found a new hatred for people walking their pets–or even walking on their own or even worse, in GROUPS–when I am on the road. I can understand the people walking their pets, but I have to encourage anyone who is reading this to keep your animal OFF the road. Drivers are not always able to avoid hitting animals when they dart in front of the car, as shown by any number of roadkill that you can see on highways, freeways, as well as regular streets.

J-walkers are stupid, the people who walk on the road next to the sidewalk are dumbbums (how much swearing is allowed on here?), the people who walk on the road in the middle of a lane are suicidal (very much like squirrels), the people who walk when the red hand is up are spiteful, rebellious morons without a cause, people with strollers, ON THE ROAD (IT’S A BABY YOU MORON! DO YOU WANT ME TO BE A POTENTIAL BABY-KILLER??), and, especially now that there is no longer snow on the ground for longer than a few minutes (what’s up with that fellow canadians? I’m getting snow in April! What’s with that?), bikers who ride on the WRONG SIDE OF THE ROAD!

I didn’t notice them before I started driving, but when you’re trying to turn a corner and a cyclist swerves around your car, it’s really freaking scary! I wasn’t even the one who was driving the last three times.

So yeah, anyone else have freakouts on pedestrians? any other pet-peeves?

Oh, and I realize that I sound like a bit of a spaz right now, but driving in my neighborhood is a bit of a minefield for a new driver in any car, let alone a borrowed one. There are death hedges that block your sight, stupid telephone poles, more gigantic hedges, trees, parked cars, more than just a dozen of stray cats (P.S Cult of Otis people, i’m trying to help but they’re quick!), and morons on the road.

Fun times, huh?

2 thoughts on “NEARLY HIT HIM!

  1. lexy3587 says:

    Further clarification of Gwynn’s near death experience… he was ON-LEASH, and I didn’t even notice that the person in a car that passed us (with plenty of space) was someone I knew. Also, we spent a fair bit of time on someone’s front lawn, very far back from the road.
    And yes, you sound like a crazy person…. 😀

    • Doodled93 says:

      The apple doesn’t fall far from the tree Lex, and we both come from the same tree. And yes, I sound a bit crazy in that, but hey, in a car that has pretty different controls than what I’m used to, with Gwynn bouncing around to the side, I was more than a liottle freaked out, even when I wasn’t going to be passing you guys for like a minute.
      AND you don’t get to lecture me on paranoia, you hypocrite 😀

Leave a Reply

