Classes Smashes (my social life)

Classes are another part of the everyday life of a student, minus the weekends 😀

I am one of the lucky few who has an additional day off, and even have it on a Tuesday. Yay for that, though i’s mainly an excuse for me to hang out in my room and hold off reviewing…

Fellow procrastinators, can I get a WOOT WOOT!?

Maybe later? oh, okay. 😀

Well, mainly this blog will be about what my schedule will be like this semester… as well as some things I’m noticing about those classes.

Monday:

  •  English Essay Writing = 2:30pm – 3:30pm
  •  Art History  = 7:00pm – 10:00pm

Tuesday is OFF

Wednesday:

  •  Critical Thinking  = 4:00pm – 5:00pm

Thursday:

  •  Painting  = 8:30am – Noon
  •  English Essay Writing = 4:00pm – 5:00pm

Friday:

  •  Film Studies  = 8:30am – Noon
  •  Critical Thinking  = 2:30pm – 3:30pm

My residence is at the top, and the general layout is >>HERE<< as well as below. Most classes are close, but one or two are closer to the bottom of the map 😐

Here is my campus... I know about 50% of it, and the rest of it, in the day, I can figure my way back to the areas I know... Great, during the day 😀

Distance to classes isn’t bad at all, and the two classes that I have at 8:30 are pretty much across the street, but on Mondays, at 7… oh boy.

Site is an engineering building primarily. It’s funky and stylin on the inside, and have a cool set up in all of the rooms.

It is also on the other side of the campus from my room.

It gets dark earlier when winter nears, as many of you should know, and when I get out at 10pm, it’s dark, and kind of sketchy looking, and I don’t generally walk around that area of campus since it’s so out-of-the-way for me, so anything that WOULD look recognizable, isn’t.

I didn’t get back to my room until 10:30 last Monday because I got a bit lost…

In Toronto, directions are easy, since it’s pretty much accepted that The Lake is South, so it’s easy to orient yourself… and if you’re down town, the streets are pretty easy to navigate, and there are maps posted every couple of streets.

There are no such landmarks in Ottawa, as far as I can tell.

Yes, there’s the campus maps, but they do me no good if I can’t FIND them.

Ugh, I wish I weren’t directionally challenged… I’m glad my phone has Google maps on it.

As for the times of everything, the closer friends I’ve made here seem to have a lot of classes starting when mine finish… it sucks. I hang out with them mostly after 4-6ish, until we look at the clock and realize that ___ has a class at 8:30 and it’s getting late. I still get to hang out, but I get bored in between classes.

Perhaps I should blog during my free time…

Anyway, here’s what my courses are like:

Critical Thinking:

So far we’re mainly looking at what makes up an argument (not a quarrel, more like in debates… something that it either true or false, and can be proven so), and kind of makes me think of english class… Though the teacher reminds me of one of my friends, so in some discussions, I really can’t take him seriously… He also seems to have something against Katy Perry… most examples of what is or isn’t an argument  goes along the lines of “I don’t like Katy Perry, she sings like a fog horn.” Wow, almost wrote ‘sins’ instead of ‘sings’… I don’t eve have autocorrect to blame 😀

English Essay Writing:

A required course of all 1st years, this is VERY like english class… The teacher even reminds me of my AP English teacher for grade 12, since he keeps on bringing up the fact that we should avoid ‘fluff’ in our essays…

Fluff, for those who don’t know, is the bits of your essay that doesn’t actually give any weight to your argument, and sometimes takes away from your point.

Critical Thinking seems to be the complimenting course for this, since while this class teaches you the best way to write your essay, Critical thinking tells you the best way to frame your point, or thesis, or argument (whatever you want to call it). Hopefully this will help in the long run, and neither teacher will give a rule of thumb that directly clashes with what the other teacher says.

Interesting fact:

The ‘Rule of thumb’ came up because a long, long time ago, there was a law set in place that a man couldn’t beat his wife with a stick thicker than his thumb… This was to prevent a man from causing too much damage to his wife, and also to bring the death counts down… Fun times there. Gotta love those obscure laws…

Art History:

Kind of boring, a lot of it is watching her put up slides, and I have to go buy a stack of books for it… She kind of reminds me of one of my high school arts teachers, but hopefully she won’t be as flakey…

All the quizzes are to be taken online, open book, all the assignments are to be handed in over the virtual campus online, and even though she’s said that all of the things that we’re going to be doing is online already (i.e. the readings for each class), if we miss 3 classes, we may not be allowed to sit the exam. Same goes for my two practical art classes, but I guess that makes sense since I am taking Fine Arts as my major. I would have gone anyway, but saying the limit is 3 classes… well frig.

Painting:

The teacher oftentimes forgets words, or parts of what she was going to say, so there are a lot of pauses where she says ‘um’ and gently waves her hands in front of her as if she’s directing an orchestra, but she seems nice. The course is interesting, and though I’ve nay had 2 classes so far, the work seems like it won’t be dull…

I just need to remember to bring one of my beer t-shirts and a pair of my man-jeans next class. (Beer T-shirt: you remember when they gave out shirts in every case of beer? Yeah, my parents gave me a lot of those. Man-jeans? They are too big for me, and used to belong to my neighbours brother. Man. Jeans. But comfortable)… as well as a Tupperware container.

TIP for PAINTERS: if you use a Tupperware container to ix your colours in, it means that if yo make too much of one colour, you don’t have to waste it, you can seal the container and use it again next class. Dried paint peels off easily to clean it, and if there’s anything stuck that you wasn’t gone, dunk it in hot water and it’ll come off.

Film Studies:

Pretty much movie class… we get film reels and we have to cut and paste bits and pieces of what we’ve got together to make a movie, and then we have to put it onto the computer and edit all the blah bits out of it… 24 slides is 1 second. 1 slide is about as long as your pinky is wide, and bout as tall as your pinky nail is. Thankfully we don’ have to do cartoons or anything like that (we are, in fact, banned from using cartoons in it).

Very fun, very new and covered in INTERESTING NEWNESS. Will have me 2nd class in it tomorrow 😀

NOTE: PRACTICAL ART CLASSES ARE EXPENSIVE! HAVE SPENT MORE THAN $100 ON PAINTING SUPPLIES ALONE! BE WARNED, FINE ARTS STUDENTS, BE WARNED…

And those are my classes for this semester… and my general thoughts about them…

My sane and optimistic side is saying that I’ll still have a good opinion at midterms, but my insane and otherwise fairly insightful side is saying that I WILL WANT TO DROP OUT, WILL FEEL LIKE CRYING, AND WILL BE CURSING MY SO-FAR NICE TEACHERS TO THE DEPTHS OF HELL!

We shall see, won’t we?

3 thoughts on “Classes Smashes (my social life)

  1. lexy3587 says:

    don’t stress about future midterm-ey you 😛
    the classes sound interesting. and it is kind of sketchy that you posted your exact location and class schedule on the interwebs. JUST saying. stalkers do appreciate the courtesy, but maybe you don’t want to be courteous to them…

    • Doodled93 says:

      Hah! I’d like to see someone try to FIND my class… There are so many entrances and whatnot that there would be serious issues trying to find the class, especially since there are classes having the same subject taught on different floors as well.
      However, to make you feel better I’ll take down where they are 😀

  2. lexy3587 says:

    Yeah… not so much classes, but where you live… and when you are almost guaranteed not to be there… just sayin.

Leave a Reply

