Freshman 15? More like 50 I hear…

One of the funny things I heard about Freshman year is the Freshman 15.

Your average goes down 15%.

You gain 15 pounds.

A not-quite equal trade-off I think.

But it seems that people focus more on the 15 pounds than the marks. My sister bought me some stuff from the Lindt store , one of those large freezer Ziploc baggies with a bunch of the wonderful stuff. She warned me as she handed over the clear bag of wonder, that Freshman 15 is more like Freshman 50, and I should be careful.

I am generally careful, and most of the bag is still sitting beside me.

Waiting.

Tempting.

In general, I worry about my health, but it’s mainly the idea of whether or not I’m getting enough iron, enough of whatever vitamins I need, and in general if I’m healthy. I have a high metabolism, and playing hockey ups that as well. I eat a lot of meat (Im the carnivore of the family), and I worry about if I’m eating enough greens, if I perhaps should have had another apple, and If I should perhaps take one of those Vitamin C pills–just in case.

I don’t actually worry much about my weight. I once tried keeping track of my weight, but it depends on what I do over the summer that shows what me normal weight is. Hockey season it’s pretty constant (NO, I’m not going to say what it is), and it’s only been the past two summers while I’ve been working that my weight stays about the same. Muscle adds weight. I like muscle, even if it makes the sleeves on some of my shirts tight as they were after this past summers experience.

But it seems as though the rest of the female population in my year focus a lot more on the number than what the weight is from. It’s just AMAZING how much people focus on their weight. Yes you should be a healthy weight for your size, but everywhere I look as I head to my classes I’m seeing the uuber skinny legs and the jutting collar bones of people who just Don’t Eat.

I kind of wish that the mentality was a bit more like in the olden days, where if a woman had wide hips and some meat on her she was a much more desirable wife/person/whatever than the petit, breakable looking girls.

I would much rather hear about how worried one of my friends is about keeping her scholarship up (NOOOO! DO NOT LOSE 15%!!!), even as tedious as that can be, rather than hear about how they wanted to get themselves a yogourt but had to get a salad instead–have to watch their weight after all.

EAT! I don’t want you looking over my MEAL with envy as you pick at your rabbit-food! You got a freaking meal plan because it’s required of first years, USE IT! It’s TAX FREE for students!

WHAT can I say to make you realize that weight is good for you?

It’s okay to be ‘FAT’. Overweight is bad, but you won’t get overweight by eating a HEALTHY amount of food!

Losing weight makes your boobs smaller.

Gymnasts sometimes have trouble getting pregnant because they’re too skinny and their body wouldn’t be able to support the baby.

Sometimes during a hockey season I would get too skinny, and (guys skip ahead) I would skip my period for a while. Yay for losing it, but as soon as I got it again I GOT HORRIBLE CRAMPS! A blender in my stomach was set to PUREE and then bleach was poured over it!

The Boney look will NEVER be in style.

If I can count your ribs without you sucking in a breath, you look like a skeleton, not a model. (Yes, that was a bit harsh)

Modelling in Europe changed so that if you were below what was a healthy body weight for your height, you were fired from the agency. Many agencies lost more than half of their models.

All I’m trying to say is that not being a stick is more than okay.

Also, there’s only so many times that you can reassure someone that they’re not fat before you turn around ad call them pudgy to spite.

Don’t be that person.

A HEALTHY weight is a SEXY weight.

Leave a Reply

