It’s Just Gross. Really.

I room with two guys and one girl, and we each get our own room, and there’s a washroom for each pair of rooms in my apartment. there are two rooms and a washroom at either end of the kitchen/living room area, and yes, it is awesome.

One might think, since there are an even number of girls to guys, that the two rooms on one end of the little hall would be the guys room, and the two rooms on the other end would be the girls.

Not so.

I don’t mind sharing a wall with H, and in general even if I was sharing a washroom with J, the other girl, I still wouldn’t keep my shampoo and whatever in the washroom, because I don’t like keeping it on that stupid little shelf in the shower. Water gets in the caps and everything sucks, and soap scum builds up where they sit, and in general it’s just gross o have to use a watery, soap scum-ey shampoo/conditioner/soap/face scrub/whatever.

So I avoided that bit of grossness.

What I didn’t avoid is the tiny black hairs that H leaves in the shower, all over the floor.


They aren’t mine, I checked after my shower. I don’t leave little black hairs all over the shower floor.

I had some friends over, and there was joking, and a lot of bathroom breaks,and they eventually decided to open the frosted door that led into the shower, to, you know, check it out. One wasn’t even going to Ottawa U, and the other is in a different residence, one where there are a couple of showers per floor, not per room (she only has one roommate, and it’s one room), so it was understandable. One wanted to compare, the other wanted to get an idea of what she would be dealing with next year after her grade 13.

M, who goes to Ottawa U, laughed in a way that said that she was grossed out, and said: “You have pubes all over the floor!”

S, who doesn’t go to Ottawa U, looked over M’s shoulder for a moment, and offered: “Maybe its leg hair? He is a guy, so…”

Either way it’s gross, and I shouldn’t have to spend a few moments washing leg hair/pubes down the drain before having a shower. Hair on the floor of the shower is almost as bad as glitter on anything.

So my main question right now, other than “why me?”, is “Doesn’t he notice he’s shedding?” I feel like I wo

uld feel better if he was part cat or something, then it would be  bit more understandable.

ooh, need a shave....

It’s gross, and I don’t know how to bring this up without sounding like the crazy roommate. The best I’ve come up with is “Could you, like, clean the shower after you use it? Like,make sure everything has gone down the drain?”

I made a freaking video of it, because a picture didn’t do it justice.

I don’t know what he’s doing, perhaps he’s shaving, but shaving after/during every shower?

There’s a sink if it’s your face, and if it’s something else, do you really need to shave it?

Ugh, and the only other gross thing about res right now is how messy my room is and how we desperately need to get a bigger garbage can.

Great.

Just–Really guys, if you are sharing a shower with someone (I don’t mean at the same time), be thoughtful to what might gross them out. Be thoughtful to what might bug them.

Girls, clean hair from drains, Guys, clean up whatever you drop, and both, try to avoid having to share a shower.

3 thoughts on “It’s Just Gross. Really.

  1. lexy3587 says:

    lol, poor Doodle! hopefully the shower situation is remedied. and i can’t see your video at all 😦 sad.
    also, some guys shave in teh shower… proabbly cleaner for your sink anyways, but i doubt he grows it out long enough for it to be that, if it’s there every day…

Leave a Reply

