Live Long and Prosper

I send my Parents and siblings links to things that I find interesting or funny, or even just useful. (Such as a site that said when all of my university holidays are). I recently sent a link to a Danish Movie Trailer that would likely come out in english sometime soon, that I thought that the fam-jam would get a kick out of, even though it seems a bit like most of the humour is like kicks to the balls, stupid puns (the best kind :D), and general animated humour.

I figured, hey, I’m probably going to get a reply or two along the lines of “Hah, looks funny, don’t you love Vikings?”

I get an e-mail from my mom saying “will look at it later.  Long day .. .  had one of my DECA students commit suicide last night”

O_O

Had a bit of a flashback, of about 2 weeks ago when I received an e-mail asking what my favourite colour was. Why? Because Mom wants to know what colour flower to add to one of the bouquets for grandma’s memorial.

O_O Grandma’s dead? This is a horrible way to tell me! What the Hell?!?

Mom then tells me that no, they just want to be prepared, since Grandma wasn’t eating, and apparently one of the last staged of Alzheimer’s is to forget how to swallow. False alarm though, as she just didn’t like the food and was stuffing it in her cheeks instead of swallowing or TELLING the nurses that she didn’t like it.

I got the full story about it today over the phone, after making sure that it wasn’t a close-close student…  I know it sounds bad, but yeah, my first response was to ask if she knew him well, and THEN to say sorry to hear it.

He was 16 years old, had a 94% average last year, was part of a band, and about 2-3 hours after he left his friends after working on making some new songs, he hung himself.

Did it after school, but before his mom got home.

His mom came home to find that her son had hung himself.

I can’t imagine doing that to my parents, and am, in fact, tearing up right now at the thought.

Definitely crying. Great.

Earlier today I got a text from my sister saying how bad the traffic was, and in the same conversation with my mom I found out that some guy decided that he would make his suicide very public. He was speeding on the highway, and caused a lot of accidents, causing an unknown number of injuries and deaths. It was along the QEW. This is what I heard from my mom.

You know those concrete sound barriers on either side of the highway? He rammed through one of those, and caused the line to fall onto the highway, again injuring and possibly killing a number of drivers. When he went through it, his car landed on another car on the other side. He is currently at the hospital, facing severe head trauma.

More information HERE, HERE, and HERE.

It closed down that part of the highway, and slowed down traffic all from about 1:15ish to about 8pm.

I don’t understand the appeal of dying. Yes, the point of life is eventual death, but the point of death is to make you appreciate life so much more. And Suicide is ridiculous.

IF, and I say IF, I were to ever decide that it’s all too much, that I have no more reason to live, that I figure that my life is pointless, all of my family would have to be dead, all of my friends would have to be dead, I would have to have absolutely nothing to my name, I would have to have been beaten and raped, I would have had to be relying on a machine to live, and I would have to have experienced some kind of severe head trauma to make me lose any intelligence I have. THAT is what it would take for me to decide that it was worth it for me to kill myself.

The thought of ANYONE I know dying makes me want to cry again, and I can’t imagine how bad it would be to actually lose someone I love because they took their own life, and I don;t think I’m assuming too much to think that my family and friends would be a bit more than upset if I died.

Your life, and the life of the people around you are worth too much for Suicide to be anything but stupid.

My mom’s DECA student was 16, and there’s no way he had nearly enough teenage angst to justify doing that to his mom.

The driver (who is also 16), had no right to risk other people’s lives to off himself any more than he had the right to put his own family through his death.

My heart goes out to the families of those who died at others or their own hands, and I can honestly say that I never want to think about one of my family members committing suicide (for those who care, that just made me start crying again :|). Never ever ever never EVER.

I don’t care if you don’t like Star Trek, there’s a number of good messages in it. one particularly reaches out to me.

Stop killing already.

Live long and Prosper.

Spock: Live long and Prosper my friend… Do It.

4 thoughts on “Live Long and Prosper

  1. Dante Rousch says:

    you have a fantastic blog here! would you prefer to make some invite posts on my weblog?

  2. Bret Stuemke says:

    You should take part in a contest for top-of-the-line blogs on the web. I’ll advocate this site!

Leave a Reply

