I’m Just Too Advanced, so I Died 5x

A new concept in school for me is the idea of ‘Virtual Campus’.

I heard about this, and was like “Okay, I’m not using this then….” because while I go on the computer regularly, I still have major issues with things that later, when I complain about it to friends/family, they’re like “Umm… seriously?”

My worst fear is clicking on something that LOOKS harmless, and getting the Blue Screen of Death as a response

It’s amazing that I managed to figure out iMovie enough for class, let alone use it to subtitle my complain video about my hairy roommate…

So one of my teachers said that yeah, he’ll be using it, and he’ll put up the slides on this Virtual Campus thingy, but made it all sound enough of a meh kind of thing that I was like “Okay, so I don’t have to use this to pass.”

This was on Wednesday, and my first class with this guy.

On Monday, I got a bit of a shock when I was informed by another teacher that all assignments would be… assigned on the virtual campus.

Egads!

And then she goes on to kill me.

All tests will be performed on the VC as well!

Death.

I was that dead girl at the back of the class. Third row, to the right.

I somehow managed to revive myself enough to hear her continue to explain how that would work.

The Tests had no time limits, and she said that she expects us to use our textbooks for it, and I was revived a bit more. Then she killed me again.

As soon as the test is closed, even if you haven’t clicked the button that says “Submit”, it will be handed in… oh by the way, the program seems to be having some problems and occasionally quits.

Quits?

Death.

So I’m required to use this Virtual Campus in order to pass… Great. And it may hand in my tests only part-way finished… Great.

I also have to figure out how to get ONTO this stupid thing, and I will likely die again before I finish. But… I could also get all of the lecture notes, at least for one of my classes, and not have too go to class!?! BRILLIANT! (Lexy, don’t call in the dogs, both you and I know that though I think I could do the class without going to class, I can’t, and won’t)…

Hermit Hobo Me: You mean... I could NOT go to class and still get your notes...? All I have to do is go onto this horribly complicated site? Why do you raise my hopes so? (also, L is AWESOME! From Death Note)

Thankfully All I have to do to get to the site is Google “UOttawa Virtual Campus”, and it’s my usual Ottawa Username and password to get in (as it is for all students, if you don’t know your student number by now you have already failed, and haven’t been able to hand in any tests, assignments…Fail.), and I noticed when I clicked a link to my class that I had an assignment up. Fun. So I clicked it, as it didn’t have a time limit other than it had to be handed in by the next week.5, and waited as it brought up a blank page.

It wouldn’t open.

Death.

Next class my teacher said that it seems as though people who have a more advanced computer (as I do, and I love my Macbook Pro) may not be able to open anything on the VC.

Bugger.

I figured out that I can hand things IN, I just can’t open the assignment description… I also can open and hand in the tests, which is wonderful as I don’t want to have to go to the library every time I need to finish a test.

Also, now all of the tests are open, so I could, conceivably, finish all of my tests and then finish the assignments as they come, but really, I may do a couple of tests every other week if I’m feeling ambitious, but the test I just did today tells me that my teacher tells us a lot of the answers in class.

So now I’m alive, with my much too Advanced (yes with capital) computer, feeling happy that the test was so easy even if I DID have to go out and buy a $150 set of books (Death), and I DO have to do laundry (DEATH)…

But maybe tomorrow…

Leave a Reply

