Family and ‘Family’

Time with the family is always fun, and as I’ve said before, I’m really glad for the new 2 reading weeks.

Currently, I am again writing on the go, this time in the car.

The family and I are heading out yonder to visit with other family and ‘family’ who all happen to live about 3 hours away.

‘Family’, if you don’t know the term (commonly said with ‘air quotes’) are family friends who you have known since you were little, or have become the ‘chosen’ family of the family.

The ‘family’ that we visit are people who when I was younger I thought that they were aunt/uncle and cousins.

They are still sort-of relatives, but in a secret way.

A ‘secret’ way.

(When I start to mention them, I still refer to them as family though I don’t call them my aunt __ or uncle__ or cousins __, __, and __, but instead call them family while a sort-of twitch/grimace overcomes my face, and then I repeat family with air quotes and then try to explain. It adds about a minute and a half to my explanations, though I’m getting better at shortening it to “They’re family friends”. ‘Secret’ family.)

This ‘Secret’ family has two cats now, the two most adorable tuxedo-ed balls of fluff I’ve see in a while, and Gwynn has very little cat-conversation skills.

This means that he goes ape-shit crazy over felines in general.

We are trying to civilize him to the manner of don’t-try-to-lick-or-drool-on-the-cat Cat manners.

It’s taking some work.

But some family of ours has farm country (I believe that Lexy has mentioned it in her blog at least once) and two dogs, so now that we have Gwynn we have to trust Sammy and Odie to teach our city slicker puppy to NOT go to the other farm turf, and to tire him out suitably. Farm dogs can do that.

In the cartoon world Insanity has made in my mind, cartoon country dogs always have a stalk of grass poking out the corner of their mouths. They’re relaxed, and tired, but turn into army commanders when the dog from the next property over tries to invade their Territory, and savage gang fighters when they meet raccoons.

Army commanders have shades suddenly.

Savage gang fighters style their now-raised hackles into punky spikes.

Insanity giggles.

Eventually I will figure out my scanner and will be able to post my own pictures…

We are also visiting Grandma. She has Alzheimer’s.

Sometimes it’s funny, but generally it’s sad.

One other thing about the relatives with the farm, they have a 4 year old.

We take turns amusing her. I’m posting this (we’re out of the car now :D) and she’s asking me if my laptop is magic.

I didn’t want to lie like I did when she was two, so I pointed to the lights and said that it was as magic as the lights. Of course, lat time I lied to her about electricity being magic, it was asking why a lightbulb works, sooo…

Young kids are adorable, but when you want to do something else, you don’t really want to hook monkeys in a barrel together. What a surprise.

Gabbie says ‘Hi’

ffffffffff FFFFFF fffff  (this is me showing Gabbie how the keyboard works)

Here is Gabbie typing her name:

gabbi sullivan

Isn’t it amazing? mom (also her spelling mom)

Leave a Reply

