You can be the Mum, and I can be the Minion

Last night I spent a good couple of hours playing pirates/zombies with my sort-of niece Gabbie. (daughter of a cousin? What is this called? Second cousin?)

We played pirates for a while, and she pretended to ‘hide’ the ‘treasure’ (4 remotes and a stuffed monkey toy, and she mostly hid it with Lexy, who was trying to read a book) until I pretended to die.

It was a tragic affair, where she handed me a ‘sword’ the wrong way, accidentally stabbing me multiple times. (she kept trying to hand it to me the ‘right way’ so I wouldn’t be dead. That wouldn’t get me out of the game though)

“You’re not dead.”

“Yes I am, I’m very dead.”

“No, no, you’re NOT. You’re still a pirate. And you’re talking.”

“Well then I’m a zombie pirate.I’m still dead.” And then I tickled her.

And thus we then started to play Zombie.

I got out of the Pirate game though. There’s only so many times you can be surprised when she opens the ‘treasure chest’ and it’s ::le gasp!:: empty! So Zombies are a level up.

She ran from me for a bit, I caught her a number of times and tickled her, and eventually that made me turn her into a Zombie.

A four-year old makes an adorable Zombie. She also decided that pixie dust could bring people back to life, and this brought up a question.

Does that mean that pixies are the mortal fictional enemy for zombies?

Zombies Vs. Pixies everyone.

I think I mentioned, as we were turning other people into zombies, that I was gaining many Minions, a Minion army of zombie minions, and she stuck to the word.

To prove this, she woke me up this morning (at the ungodly hour of 11:00am) and asked me if we could play zombies again. She told me that “You can be the mum, and I can be the minion”

O_O;; …….. >__<

She’s too adorable.

To explain the Mum part, sometime last night she decided that I would be the Mum, since I was the Mum of all the Minions.

When she first called me Mum, I had a variety of reactions.

Me: “Did you just call me mum?” (um how?)<inner me<

Gabbie: “Yup!”

Sanity: I got nothing. ::shrugs::

Insanity: BWAHAHA! Teach the Minion to see me as a parent! Guarantee to COMPLETE and UTTER LOYALTY! Brilliant! ::lightning flashes in background::

Sanity writes that down. I decide to just go with it.

‘It’ being me being Mum, not the Minion part.

So I’m the Mum, and she’s the Minion.

Now she’s a Mummy. She’s just told me. (This morning, when she attacked me in my bed, she wrapped herself in my blankets, and I said she looked more like a mummy like that than a zombie. We may play Mummy today rather than Zombie. Great.)

But a new game means that we won’t be going around to each person in the house and making them a Minion again and again and again and again and again and again…. and again…

I know that I’m harping on about getting out of playing games with her, but I have a limited amount of patience that can be used towards playing pretend games when the 4-year-old I’m playing with keeps changing the rules of whichever game we’re playing. She’s fun and adorable, but while the adorable remains a constant, the fun is like a wave. Up and down……………. up down…………………………updown………….

::Sigh::

Lexy may also write about her experiences with Gabbie soon. Or this will get edited with more from her. We talked about doing a joint project, but seeing as how I’ll be in Ottawa, I think the closest it’ll be is me linking to her and her linking to me 😀

Lexy is HERE at goneforawalk.wordpress.com Will link later to anything pertaining to Gabbie and her creative games later.

Leave a Reply

