I Love Chicken-Milk!

Chicken-Milk is what one of my friends calls eggnog… hahaha, she’s so funny…

From the rather unsavoury name and by the scrunched up nose, I gathered that she didn’t like Eggnog.

I love eggnog.

And it is now on sale!!!!

How exciting is that!?!?

I was walking the other night with this friend, and we decided to go to Mac’s. As in the store, I’m not talking about a computer store though.

Mac’s is awesome… I have two within walking distance, though I only recently found out about this second, larger store that night with Friend. This other store is bigger and awesome, and sells sandwiched and tubs of Ice cream… This would be awesome on its own for ice cream’s sake, but it’s even more awesome for my sake as I was hesitating buying ice cream from the near-ish Loblaws that I go to for groceries. It would require me walking home with it melting 😦 I was very sad when I left without ice cream… and now I have a place to go that’s hardly a five-minute walk away!

Score!

But the main awesomeness that I found was my Chicken-Milk.

It was hidden beside the normal milk, encased in a foreign looking carton… I’m used to the blue cartons, and I would post a picture if I could find one.

But this one was red, but clearly said in its curly writing of awesome “EGGNOG”

And I wasn’t the one to notice this.

“Oh look, eggnog…” said my unenthusiastic friend.

“WHAT?! Eggnog? Where?” said I.

She turned away, and muttered something about chicken-milk…

I, holding a tall carton of delicious, said:

“What? Chicken Milk? Where?”

I started looking for something that said ‘Chicken Milk’ as I thought that would be wild to see. I didn’t think it was right to assume that they had blended milk and chicken together, and somewhere in my mind I knew that since chickens were egg layers, that they didn’t–Couldn’t–give milk like a cow can.

Perhaps chicken stock and milk mixed together?

How strange… I wanna see it!

Friend laughs, and sort-of flops her hand in my direction.

“No, no, just eggnog. Chicken milk… drinking eggs…”

She made a face. I feel like I may have made a face back, but for different reasons.

I know that some people don’t like Eggnog, but it’s baffling to me in the same way that it’s baffling to me that some people don’t like skating. It just doesn’t make sense in my mind.

And I always think that I can change them to fit my sense of ‘right’. Liking eggnog and skating were ‘right’. I love skating and am planning on skating the canal every weekend as soon as it freezes. I love Eggnog enough that my Dad ends up buying three or four cartons of the stuff and storing it on the opposite side of the fridge to the beer. He does this every time he goes shopping, and it’s Eggnog season that has him going to the store to buy more milk AND eggnog.

I’ve learned through my mom and dad telling me to stop chugging the stuff straight to add milk to it, and it now occurs to me that by doing this I have more than twice the amount of eggnog in one carton than I do without. It means that I don’t have to fear overtaking my shared fridge with a number of cartons of the stuff.

It also means that I’m less likely to, for once, actually try to change my friends mind about eggnog. I don’t want to waste it. And calling it Chicken-Milk makes me smile a bit.

I love Eggnog…

My precious…..

GIVE ME MY PRECIOUS!

2 thoughts on “I Love Chicken-Milk!

  1. lexy3587 says:

    Yum and Yay! Eggnog season has arrived! Before the americans have even had time for their thanksgiving, which is ridiculous, but I can’t complain.
    and chicken-milk makes it sound disgusting. It’s eggs, not chickens… and then there’s the nog.
    also, rum, esp. spiced rum. goes well in eggnog.

  2. Doodled93 says:

    😀 There is an edit to this post I should probably mention… She (friend) looked at the french word for eggnog, and noticed poule, but imagined a ‘t; at the end, so she was like “wtf? chicken milk…”
    She has also corrected me in saying that she actually liked eggnog 😀
    I’m still not sharing though 😀 I need to buy more D:

Leave a Reply

