A Project I’m Working on

I figured that I don’t really talk about what I do that much, and most of the time I’m talking about school it’s to complain about homework.

It’s not all homework.

There are also assignments.

One of my courses is in Film Studies, which is not, sad to say, all about watching (studying) movies.

It involvs actually playing around with iMovie and making them.

A project that I’m working on now, that has me needing to get my own film footage is a projection project.

The idea is to make a film that you project onto something three-dimensional, and that 3D object becomes part of the project. As an example, a girl a couple of years ago filmed herself being depressed in a cage at her parents kennel (the idea was that she was trapped in the cage), and then she took that footage, edited it somewhat, and then projected it onto the cage that she was ‘trapped’ in during the footage.

It gives a 3D feel to the film. It was also interesting seeing the doubling effect that the shadows from the cage gave it.

You can either do the projection on the object in class, or you can film the projection project and show it that way.

What I’m going to do is film myself pretending to battle something unseen and be all dramatic about it, and then edit so that it occasionally rewind and skips and redo’s parts. Then I’m going to project this beside/above a table, and film myself typing on a laptop.

The idea is that’s what my imagination is doing as I’m writing.

Tada!

rewind= me deleting the scene, or deciding to change something in it

skips= my mind jumping ahead or working on something ahead

redo= me trying to figure it out, or figure out the next part

So there’s a look into what happens when I’m writing ^_^

And also a look into what kind of projects I have to do, at least for that class.

I’ll probably post it on YouTube (and then on here) after I’m done, and hopefully it will look much better than I’m describing it here πŸ˜€

I may even post my final project, which is a bit less plot-related/oriented.

2 thoughts on “A Project I’m Working on

  1. lexy3587 says:

    this sounds really cool. I’m looking forward to seeing how it’ll turn out.

Leave a Reply

