I Laugh at Unfortunate Things

I have a bit of an issue when I rewatch movies…

I laugh at unfortunate things.

For example, I was watching X-Men Origins: Wolverine earlier, and in the beginning, where kid Wolverine gets all pissed off and starts screaming, looking at those new spiky claws bursting forth from between his knuckles…

I was laughing.

Laughing pretty darn hard. Dramatic kid acts dramatically.

Later, when there’s the dramatic parting between Victor and Jimmy/Logan, I’m giggling a fit, and as soon as it scene flashes to the Canadian Rockies, I’m still giggling, this time about how he’d like “I’m going to get away from the fighting… now where to do tha–CANADA! Canada! Of course!”

Of course, Canada… and then, after he decides to go Canadian, he also decides to be a lumberjack.

That’s not a cliché old Canadian job at all XD

In other movies, a character dies dramatically, I giggle, A very sad parting between two characters that you KNOW should be together.. giggles again..

I think it’s because in the first time I watch a movie, I have all of myself distracted by the moving-pictures of newness to attract all of my attention, making me try to think ahead as to what’s going to happen (because I like to spoil ‘surprises’ for myself.. I usually guess right. I do this for books as well).

The second or third or whatever time around, I blame the giggles on my humour mixed with Sanity’s humour and Insanity’s humour.

Aha, I know that part of you, if you’ve read other posts of mine, are thinking “Right, Insanity and Sanity again, huh?”

But I also know that those same thoughts are thinking “Um, Sanity has a sense of humour?”

Yes, Sanity has a sense of humour.

And it’s very close to Insanity’s idea of it, especially in regards to movies.

Insanity can find humour in pretty much anything, and Sanity finds humour out of ridiculous things… like a kid yelling out while looking like they’re acting.

This leads to both laughing over stupid parts of movies that, if you were watching it get filmed on its own, you’d be giggling as well.

That usually causes me to giggle at cartoons as well, when a character says something that, when I think about them saying it in a studio, makes me laugh.

This is why any thoughts about acting–vocal or otherwise– have always been dashed.

My Mom can help me in convincing you of this, as she can tell you multiple times that I thought Id be clever and lie to her, and will have a serious face for about 2 seconds after I lie…

And then I’ll burst into giggles.

There’s some more inappropriate giggling…

Leave a Reply

